As you may have read in my other Health and beauty from nature posts, I am pretty much a Pinterest.com fiend.  I post stuff on my boards and I actually try them.   One of the posts that I am very glad I found was this post by OnegoodthingfromJillee.com.   In this post she talks about using oil to wash your face.   The thought was intriguing to me.  So I tried it.  I must say I have been washing my face with oil for about a year now and I love it!  I don’t use other face cleansers at all from the store.  My skin seems to have gotten much more sensitive since my fibromyalgia diagnosis.  Things that didn’t used to bother my skin are terrible for me now.   Using this oil method is very good for my sensitive skin.  It leaves my skin soft, clean, pimple and wrinkle free.

In Jillee’s post, she mentions, “it definitely appealed to my disdain of all things over-priced, over-packaged and over-filled with stuff we can’t pronounce”…. I have gained that same disdain as well.  I read further.  She also mentions, “Oil helps lubricate, heal, protect, and moisturize your skin. Contrary to popular belief (and contrary to what the makers of acne products want you to believe), OIL does not cause acne. Hormones, bacteria, and dirt are to blame for that.”  Hmm… sounds accurate.   She says that she got a formula from theoilcleasingmethod.com of which oils to use for which skin types.  Here is her summary;

  • Oily Skin: Try a blend of 30% Castor Oil to 70% Sunflower Seed (or Grape Seed) Oil.
  • Balanced Skin: Try a blend of 20% Castor Oil to 80% Sunflower Seed (or Grape Seed) Oil.
  • Dry Skin: Try a blend of 10% Castor Oil to 90% Sunflower Seed (or Grape Seed) Oil.

I was trying the oily skin combination for a few months but, I found that castor oil is hard to find and pretty expensive.  So I then went to mixingolive grape canola oil 3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil with 2 tablespoons grape seed oil and 1 tablespoon of castor oil.  I only used two fingertips worth of the mixture on my skin every time I washed my face. This mixture makes a lot,.  I kept it in a glass container with a tight fitting lid, but it still got everywhere.   Then one day while in the grocery store I found Pompeian Olive Extra.  I use about half a tablespoon of this oil now instead of mixing it, and I love it.  It works just as well as mixing it my self and it’s cheaper and a lot less messy.

