Pablo Picasso

“Every now and then one paints a picture that seems to have opened a door and serves as a stepping stone to other things.”
― Pablo Picasso

When I was in high school, I used to paint. I liked it.  I could lose my self in the scene I was working on and the colors I was using to bring emotion of definition to what I was painting.  I wouldn’t call myself a Mary Cassatt.  But I thought I did okay.

One of the things I have put on my bucket list was to take some painting classes.  I wanted to have companionship  of “kindred spirits”. I also knew that the act of painting, itself, wouldn’t set off a flare-up… I hope.

A wonderfully little kitschy local shop, Mr. Twitters’s, offered a two-hour painting class for $25 this past Thursday.  I jumped at the opportunity. 

DSC_3974
We had a total of 9 students in the class
DSC_3975
Our muse. I forgot what kind of flowers these are. Our instructor took this picture of these flowers in her garden.
DSC_3976
First, we were to prep our canvas. By making the background less white, the darker colors of the photo – when we paint them – will be richer
DSC_3977
Using brown we outlined the general shape of the flowers and leaves. We then used blue and brown to fill in the dark areas of the photo
DSC_3978
Adding the color to the flowers, we added more brown and yellow or more white to allow the different hues to come through and give depth to the paining.
DSC_3979
After the shadowy darker hues were added. We then used the whites and yellows to add the stamen and the highlights.
DSC_3980
No too bad for the first time in many years of picking up a brush.

