Well day 8 of my days of gratitude was Thanksgiving in the US.  We went to my sister-in-law’s house as we do every Thanksgiving.  She made a wonderful meal, as she does every Thanksgiving.  Of course I was thankful for the food.  I was thankful for family (I guess ;D) but the thing I was most grateful for was having fun with family.  I was able to be distracted enough by playing cards and other games with my family that my back and shoulders and arm pain calmed down to a dull roar.

Gratitude: Day 8

Today I am thankful for having fun with family.
people playing cards

Of course what comes after Thanksgiving? Black Friday, Small Business Saturday and Sunday, and Cyber Monday.  I don’t do shopping anywhere for anything, if I can help it, on those days.  They cause people to be irrational and even down right criminal (check out these sad statistics http://blackfridaydeathcount.com/) to save a couple of bucks on crap they don’t need so they can give it to someone who won’t appreciate it and do it all again next year. RIDICULOUS!  The spirit of joy, generosity, praise, and togetherness that is supposed to be what this season is all about has been trampled upon by the rushing crowds. Sad.

*Deep breath – getting down from my high horse – deep breath* Okay, back to the gratitude part of this day’s post.  I’m sure that many places of worship (That believe in one God) have more people attending between Thanksgiving (and this year Hanukkah) and January 1 (for those who celebrate Kwanzaa). Whether out of sense of duty, tradition, or actual worship and praise… it is a fact.

Our church has had this effect as well.  On Friday, we had a meeting in the evening to talk about giving gifts to the needy in our community, with emphasis on military families, for Christmas.  From that meeting we came up with 20 kids from 9 families in our community that will be helped.  This truly warmed my heart that the meaning of the season is still there, and thriving.

Gratitude: Day 9

Today I am grateful for generosity.

generosity

On Day 10 I woke up and took the dogs out.  We have had snow on the ground here for a couple of days, but not enough to cover the grass and leaves that are still on the ground from the fall. My body doesn’t really like cold, and especially doesn’t like shivering.   I got all bundled up and headed outside.  I was trying to will the dogs along to get their business done as quickly as possible.  “hurry up, hurry up, hurry up” – like its possible for a human to do, let alone dogs!   Then I heard a bird sound that I didn’t recognize and I looked up to see if I could see it, and I saw the sun shining on a tree that’s branches were covered in snow / frost.  So beautiful!

Gratitude: Day 10

Today I am grateful for Sunshine.

the sound of sunshine

