Okay. I know.  I am crazy.  I admit it.  The only temperatures that have been double digits around here have been the negative ones.  My body is NOT HAPPY about it either.  I have to bundle up like Randy on A Christmas Story, just to sit in my living room – very very old house, long angering story…

BUT, I want a Wendy’s Frosty!  However, an actual frosty is out of the question.   Too much bad stuff, not enough good stuff.wendy's frosty

Aha! I have a Pinterest pin that says it’s a healthy, protein packed, version of Wendy’s cool and delicious treat. *click*

So, when perusing this recipe I ran across that it requires xanthan gum and guar gum.  I got the thought in my head to run to the health food store and grab some.  I mean this shake says “healthy” and said “skinny shake… ” in the blurb when I pinned it so I must neeeed this stuff, right?

I fell into the trap we humans fall into, called great marketing ploys.  We hear or see “healthy”, “skinny”, “fat-free”, on and on and on. We grab it with out even reading the label.  When we don’t read the ingredients we don’t know if it truly is healthier for us or not.  Often, when things are “something free” it means they add other not good ingredients to keep up the taste. Things  can not be made any more healthy, that man has to do something to make it that way.

Anyway – back to xanthan and guar gums.

I put my keys  and purse down. Stuff from the health food store is expensive you know. I decided, research was in order. Did I really neeeeed this stuff? Um, No.  Not only no, but Holy frijoles, stay away from it no!

Xanthan Gum – a chemically modified food additive that is used as a thickener. It is made by fermenting corn sugar with a bacteria. Xanthan gum may be derived from a variety of source products that are themselves common allergens, such as corn, wheat, dairy, or soy.

Guar Gum –  a thickener made from the guar plant’s legumes. While it is primarily used as a thickener, it is also used to help preserve food, or to help it retain flavor, texture and moisture.  So, guar gum is better to use than xanthan gum… but, being a legume – so, I  – being paleo – will not use it.

I came up with this truly healthy,  much better for you version that’s almost like a frosty!

  • 1 cup regular strength coffeeDSC_4712
  • 1 teaspoon flax meal
  • 1/2 ripe avocado
  • 3 tablespoons chopped dates
  • 1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon arrowroot
  • 1/3 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened baking cocoa
  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 30 – 40 ice cubes

Blend all ingredients together and enjoy!

