I have formed a terrible habit. I have been getting a McDonald’s Peppermint Mocha every possible chance I get for months now.  They are sooooo  delicious.  I try to be a good girl and get a small or medium when I get them *my justification to myself* because they are addicting.  The problem is they are not good on the waist line.  They are not good on the wallet.  And they are not good on the fibro triggering fog / pain.  They seem to be triggering – definitely to the fog. Probably ‘cus of the gobblety-gook in them that make them taste so good and make them so addicting.

Anyway – I woke up craving one today.  Instead of running out to get one though, I decided to make it.

  • mixing up magic3 0z semi-sweet baking chocolate squares
  • 2 teaspoons peppermint extract (different from mint extract I found out)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Pompeian olive oil plus
  • 1 1/2 cups Almond milk
  • a container with a lid to keep it in.

In a small microwavable bowl place chocolate, peppermint extract, and olive oil plus. Microwave at 10 second intervals.  Take out to stir each time.  Microwave until the chocolate just melts.   While the chocolate is still warm,  carefully pour into the container.  Pour in the almond milk.  Microwave for 45 seconds more.     Put the lid on.  Shake vigorously, until the color is consistently dark brown.   If you taste it now it may taste very strongly peppermint, that’s okay because it has to be strong enough that the coffee doesn’t over power it.  Keep this in the refrigerator until you’re ready to use it.  Microwave it for 45 seconds and shake it each time to distribute the chocolate before using it.  It’s delicious!  Who needs McDonald’s anyway!!   😀

DSC_4782

