One of the blogs I pin and follow regularly is “One Good Thing By Jillee“.  She alway has great natural money saving tips.  Since I have had fibromyalgia, I have found that I am more sensitive than ever to the chemicals and other artificial ingredients found in things like sunscreen and bug spray.  The headache, nausea, and skin reaction from applying these things to my skin  was definitely not worth it.    I found these two recipes for homemade sunscreen and homemade bug repellent and decided to combine them for one easy to apply lotion.   It turned out really well, and the bugs have been staying away! The best part is that I don’t have the side affects of the other stuff!

Here is the recipe I used;

  • 1/2 cup (one small tube) diaper rash cream*the zinc oxide is what provides the sun protection
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup cocoa butter
  • 3 Tablespoons of 100% aloe vera *this is NOT the green goopy stuff.  It is  a clear liquid and comes in a bottle and has no other ingredients in it. 
  • 2 teaspoons almond oil
  • 20 drops lavender essential oil
  • 10 drops rosemary essential oil

 

