I love this time of year. I love the colors, the smells, the tastes. Everything.  Fall is definitely my most favorite season.

In my last post, I wrote about how having to eat canned food has affected my fibromyalgia.  All the preservatives and non-food chemicals increased my fibro fog, my normal fibro pains, and also gave me new symptoms.

Anyway – I am finally at a point where I can afford to by real vegetables and meat again.  So, it is definitely time to pull out Diane Sanfillipo‘s cookbook and make some 21 Day Sugar Detox recipes. I need to feel better. These recipes worked very well before, so I am sure they’ll work again to lessen my fibromyalgia.

I love to cook in the crock pot. I can feel accomplished with cooking and make some great food, and my exhaustion and pain are kept to a minimum.  Crock pots are much better than spending all day cooking and not be able to to move the next day. Been there, Done that. Don’t recommend it for chronic pain sufferers AT ALL!

Because I can’t leave “well enough” alone when it comes to recipes and I have to add my own finesse to recipes. I modified Diane Sanfillipo’s recipe for Banana Vanilla Bean N’Oatmeal found on page 46 of the 21 Day Sugar Detox Cookbook. So here is the recipe with my modifications.  I like the original recipe, however cooking the nuts and bananas within the recipe gave it a weird texture and taste in my opinion. The reason these recipes are called N’Oatmeal is because oatmeal has gluten.  This N’oatmeal has the same texture of cooked oatmeal, but there is NOats in it.

DSCN1105

 Pumpkin Spice N’Oatmeal

Prep Time: 20 minutes

Cook Time: 3 hours on low in a crock pot

Serves: 4

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 can coconut milk, shaken well
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds

Directions:  Whip eggs, coconut milk, and vanilla extract with an electric mixer on low until well blended.  Add remaining spices and chia seeds. Mix with electric mixer on low for 2 minutes.  Divide mixture among  1/2 pint canning jars.  Stirring between pours to keep the mixture from settling.  Place lids and rings on jars tightly. Place in crock pot, big enough to hold all of your jars.  Cover the jars completely with water. Place lid on crock pot.  Cook on low for 3 hours. Remove from water, carefully. Let cool for 10 minutes before placing in refrigerator or eating. DSCN1108

 

 

